Bailey’s has announced that it will offer a vegan version of its liqueur for those who want to get a dairy-free buzz.
The liqueur brand uses a reported 220 million liters of Irish milk each year to manufacture more than 80 million bottles of the drink. It has never offered a vegan version until now.
The product has been dubbed “Bailey’s Almande,” and its website says it’s “made from sweet almond oil and almond essence, cane sugar and purified water with a touch of real vanilla.” It will have an alcohol content of 13 percent.
Many vegans are rejoicing (and not just because the marketing move presents another excuse for them to remind friends and family that they’re vegan):
Baileys have introduced an almond milk liqueur that’s vegan. I’m screaming